PNR Status


What is a PNR number?

PNR (Passenger Name Record) number is an unique ten digit number, that is provided against every booked train ticket. Whether you are booking the ticket online or railway station ticket counters, the ticket will certainly have a PNR number. A single PNR number can be provided to a maximum of six passengers, when group booking is sought.

How to find the PNR number on a train ticket?

Each train ticket, whether it is booked online or through physical ticket counters, comes with a 10 digit PNR number. For online ticket bookings, the PNR number is sent through email and SMS. While for physical ticket bookings, the PNR status is present on the upper left hand side of the printed ticket. You need to input this PNR number to enquire about PNR status.

How to check PNR Status at

Type your PNR in the search box above. Click on ‘Check Status’ button and you will know the latest status of your PNR.

What is the full form of symbols in PNR Status?
  • CAN / MOD - Cancelled or Modified Passenger
  • CNF / Confirmed - Confirmed (Coach/Berth number will be available after chart preparation)
  • RAC - Reservation Against Cancellation
  • WL # - Waiting List Number
  • RLWL - Remote Location Wait List
  • GNWL - General Wait List
  • PQWL - Pooled Quota Wait List
  • REGRET/WL - No More Booking Permitted
  • RELEASED - Ticket Not Cancelled but Alternative Accommodation Provided
  • R# # - RAC Coach Number Berth Number
  • WEBCAN - Railway Counter Ticket Passanger cancelled through internet and Refund not collected
  • WEBCANRF - Railway Counter Ticket Passanger cancelled through internet and Refund collected

What does 10 digit PNR Number signify?
  • 1 = PNR starting with '1' are issued from SCR Zone (issued from Secunderabad PRS)
  • 2 & 3 = PNR starting with '2' or '3' are issued from either NR, NCR, NWR, or NER Zone (issued from Delhi PRS)
  • 4 & 5 = PNR starting with '4' or '5' are issued from either SR, SWR, or SCR Zone (issued from Chennai PRS)
  • 6 & 7 = PNR starting with '6' or '7' are issued from either NFR, ECR, ER, ECoR, SER, or SECR Zone (issued from Kolkata PRS)
  • 8 & 9 = PNR starting with '8' or '9' are issued from either CR, WCR, or WR Zone (issued from Mumbai PRS)
Note that zones from which PNR are issued are as follows -
  1. NR - Northern Railway (Popular stations: Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR, Moradabad)
  2. NER - North Eastern Railways (Popular stations: Izzatnagar, Lucknow NER, Varanasi)
  3. NFR - Northeast Frontier Railways (Popular Stations: Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangiya, Lumding, Tinsukia)
  4. ER - Eastern Railways (Popular Stations: Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol, Malda)
  5. SER - South Eastern Railways (Popular Stations: Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur, Ranchi)
  6. SCR - South Central Railways (Popular stations: Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Vijayawada, Guntakal, Guntur, Nanded)
  7. SR - Southern Railways (Popular Stations: Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Palakkad, Salem, Thiruvanthapuram)
  8. CR - Central Railways (Popular Stations: Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur, Nagpur)
  9. WR - Wstern Railways (Popular Stations: Mumbai WR, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Vadodara)
  10. SWR - South Western Railways (Popular Stations: Hubbali, Bengaluru, Mysuru)
  11. NWR - North Western Railways (Popular Stations: Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner, Jodhpur)
  12. WCR - West Central Railways (Popular Stations: Jabalpur, Bhopal, Kota)
  13. NCR - North Central Railways (Popular Stations: Allahabad, Agra, Jhansi)
  14. SECR - South East Central Railways (Popular Stations: Bilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur SEC)
  15. ECoR - East Coast Railways (Popular Stations: Khurda Road, Sambalpur, Waltair)
  16. ECR - East Central Railway (Popular Stations: Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur, Sonpur)